Under the Aged Care Act 1997, the Australian Government provides a subsidy to an approved provider of home care to coordinate a package of care, services and case management to meet the individual needs of older Australians.

Individuals are assessed by a professional assessor using a nationally consistent assessment framework.
There are four levels of support:

  • Home Care Level 1 – basic care needs
  • Home Care Level 2 – low level care needs
  • Home Care Level 3 – intermediate care needs
  • Home Care Level 4 – high care needs

During the assessment process each individual’s priority for care is also determined.

Individuals approved for a home care package are placed on a national queue until a package becomes available and is assigned to them.
When care commences all approved providers must deliver home care package services under a consumer directed care basis.

(Source: About Home Care Package Program - Visited 25/06/2019)

HCP Support - Click Here